Senate: 09.03.17 Paper Code: SE2016.39



Senate

Paper Title	Updated Senate membership list
Outcome requested	Senate is asked to note the updated membership list of Senate.
Points for Senate members to note and further information	Elections will be held to fill the vacancies once Senate has met for the final time in the 2016/17 academic year.
Questions for Senate to consider	N/A
Regulatory/statutory reference points	N/A
Strategy and risk	N/A
Reporting/ consideration route for the paper	
Authors	Jane Pallant, Deputy Academic Registrar
Sponsor	Professor Simon Gaskell, Principal & President



SENATE MEMBERSHIP 2016-17

EX OFFICIO MEMBERS

a) Chair

Principal & President Professor Simon Gaskell

b) The Vice-Principals

Vice-Principal & Warden of the School of Medicine Professor Steve Thornton

and Dentistry

Vice-Principal and Executive Dean (Humanities & Professor Matthew Hilton

Social Science)

Vice-Principal and Executive Dean (Science & Professor Edmund Burke

Engineering)

Vice-Principal (Student Experience, Teaching and Professor Rebecca Lingwood

Learning)

Vice-Principal (Research) Professor Bill Spence

Vice-Principal (Public Engagement & Student Professor Peter McOwan

Enterprise)

Vice-Principal (International) Professor David Sadler

c) The President of the Students' Union Miranda Black

d) The Students' Union VP Education Sumeera Ahmad

e) Heads of Schools & Institutes Humanities and Social Sciences

Business Management Professor Frances Bowen

Centre for Commercial Law Studies Professor Spy
Economics and Finance Professor Sujo
English and Drama Professor Wa

Geography
History

Languages, Linguistics & Film

Law

Politics and International Relations

Medicine and Dentistry

Barts Cancer Institute F

Blizard Institute
Institute of Dentistry

Institute of Health Sciences Education
William Harvey Research Institute

Wolfson Institute of Preventive Medicine

Science and Engineering

Biological and Chemical Sciences

Electronic Engineering and Computer Science

Engineering and Materials Science

Mathematical Sciences
Physics and Astronomy

Professor Spyros Maniatis Professor Sujoy Mukerji Professor Warren Boutcher Professor Alison Blunt Professor Julian Jackson Professor Adrian Armstrong Professor Valsamis Mitsilegas

Professor Adam Fagan

Professor Nicholas Lemoine Professor Tim Warner Professor Mike Curtis Professor Anthony Warrens Professor Amrita Ahluwalia Professor Jack Cuzick

Professor Richard Pickersgill Professor Geraint Wiggins Professor Wen Wang Professor Boris Khoruzhenko

Professor Boris Khoruzhenko Professor David Arrowsmith

f) Faculty Deans of Research and Taught

Programmes

Humanities and Social Sciences

Dean for Taught Programmes Dr Colleen Cotter
Dean for Research Professor Adrian Smith

Medicine and Dentistry

Dean for Education Professor Anthony Warrens
Dean for Research Professor Mauro Perretti

Science and Engineering

Dean for Taught Programmes Professor Julia Shelton
Dean for Research Professor David Lee

g) Three students elected by the students' representatives across all faculties

Humanities and Social Sciences
Science and Engineering
School of Medicine and Dentistry
Petros Petrikkos
Hashim Mastan
Mahnur Khan

h) Elected members of academic staff

The numbers of elected members of academic staff per faculty may vary to provide for uneven numbers of Heads of Schools/Institutes so that there is in total an even number from each Faculty over all membership categories.

1) Constituency One: Nine elected members of the academic staff from the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

Dr Jenny Chamarette [Languages, Linguistics and Film] [2017]

Professor Rafael Leal-Arcas [Centre for Commercial Law Studies] [2019]

Professor Seán McConville [Law] [2018]

Dr Michael McKinnie [English and Drama] [2019]

Dr Isobel Roele [Law] [2019]

Professor Robbie Shilliam [Politics and International Relations] [2019]

Dr Christopher Tyson [Economics and Finance] [2018]

Two vacancies.

2) Constituency Two: Twelve elected members of the academic staff of the School of Medicine and Dentistry

Professor Rob Allaker [Institute of Dentistry] [2020]

Dr Aylin Baysan [Institute of Dentistry] [2018]

Dr John Buchanan, [Institute of Dentistry[[2020]

Dr Matthias Dittmar [Blizard Institute] [2019]

Dr Danë Goodsman [Institute of Health Sciences Education] [2020]

Professor Lucinda Hall [Blizard Institute] [2019]

Dr Andrejs Braun [Barts Cancer Institute] [2019]

Dr Sandra Nicholson [Institute of Health Sciences Education] [2018]

Dr Mark Roberts [Institute of Health Sciences Education] [2019]

Dr Anwar Tappuni [Institute of Dentistry] [2017]

Professor Ferranti Wong [Institute of Dentistry] [2017]

One vacancy.

3) Constituency Three: Thirteen members of the academic staff from the Faculty of Science and Engineering

Professor David Arrowsmith [Mathematical Sciences] [2019]

Dr Mark Baxendale, [Physics and Astronomy] [2018]

Dr Russell Binions [Engineering and Materials Science] [2018]

Dr Adrian Briggs [Engineering and Materials Science] [2020]

Professor James Busfield [Engineering and Materials Science] [2017]

Dr Sebastian del Bano Rollin [Mathematical Sciences] [2020]

Professor Steve Dunn [Engineering and Materials Science] [2018]

Dr Henri Huijberts [Engineering and Materials Science] [2018]

Dr Robert Janes [Biological and Chemical Sciences] [2018]

Dr Kamyar Mehran [Electronic Engineering and Computer Science] [2020]

Dr Chris Philips [Electronic Engineering and Computer Science] [2018]

Professor Thomas Prellberg [Mathematical Sciences] [2017]

Ms Jane Reid [Electronic Engineering and Computer Science] [2018]

No vacancies.

ACADEMIC SECRETARIAT

Secretary to Council & Academic Registrar Deputy Academic Registrar

Jonathan Morgan Jane Pallant

Information on Variable Four and Three Year Terms of Office

Following the establishment of both a new Council and Senate membership structure with effect from the start of the 2010-11 academic year, fifty per cent of elected candidates will serve for a period of three years, and the remaining fifty per cent for the full four year term to minimise the need to elect the complete constitute at the same time and ensure some membership continuity. Where 50% or less of the vacancies for each constituency have been filled, elected candidates will automatically be given a four year term of office. In the event of an uneven number of candidates in each constituency, the number assigned a four year term will be rounded up [e.g., 5/9 vacancies in the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences had been filled, so all 5 candidates have been awarded a four-year term of office. When a subsequent election is held, the remaining four candidates will be assigned a three-year term of office. See paragraph 2.7 of the election *Rules* for further information. 12/13 vacancies have been filled for the Faculty of Science and Engineering and 7/12 candidates were drawn by lot by the Returning Officer to determine who would be assigned a four year term of office.

Revised 10.02.2017