Senate: 15.10.20 Paper Code: SE2020.02



Senate

Paper Title	Chair's action
Outcome requested	Senate is asked to note the detail of chair's actions taken since the last meeting of Senate, not covered as a separate item on the agenda.
Points for Senate members to note and further information	n/a
Questions for Senate to consider	n/a
Regulatory/statutory reference points	n/a
Strategy and risk	n/a
Reporting/ consideration route for the paper	n/a
Authors	Simon Hayter, Assistant Academic Registrar, Assessment Governance
Sponsor	n/a



Chair's action

Academic Regulations 2020-21 (minutes 2019.237-2019.242) and Assessment Handbook 2020-21 (minutes 2019-243 – 2019.247)

Working groups were established to review two sets of regulations during 2019-20: self-certification of extenuating circumstances and on the harmonisation of LLB progression and award rules with those of other bachelors programmes.

The groups had not concluded their work in time for the June meeting of the Senate. Senate agreed that these additional amendments to the Academic Regulations 2020-21 and the Assessment Handbook 2020-21 would be approved by chair's action on behalf of Senate.

LLB progression and award rules

Undergraduate Law degrees (LLBs) had historically operated on very different regulations from other bachelors degrees. It was agreed during 2019-20 that the rules would be harmonised as far as possible for entry in 2020-21 and beyond.

Some of the differences had been based on historical Professional Statutory and RegulatoryBody (PSRB) guidance (though not requirements). The School of Law agreed to separate the degree and the accreditation. This means that the standard bachelors rules can be adopted, without any exceptions – there are therefore no additions to the regulations but rather the former LLB section has been deleted and the LLB is now referenced in the section on other bachelors degrees.

There are two special cases – the LLB Senior Status is a compressed version delivered over two years, and the LLB English and French Law is a joint programme with the Sorbonne delivered over four years. New regulations which mirror the standard three year ones as closely as possible have been written for these and are available online (see http://www.arcs.qmul.ac.uk/media/arcs/policyzone/academic/Academic-Regulations-2020-21-FINAL.pdf)

Extenuating circumstances: self-certification

It was proposed that students should be able to self-certify on up to three occasions per year in future, beginning as a trial in 2020-21. Students would complete a Queen Mary self-certification form in place of medical or other evidence for those claims. This process would aid students and providers as it is not always possible or helpful to seek evidence for acute short-term illnesses, for example. Self-certification is not automatic approval – the submission will be considered in the usual way, using the self-certification form 'as' the evidence.

PSRBs may place limitations or prohibitions on the use of self-certification. Where that is the case, the relevant school/institute must inform students well in advance.

Two new clauses describing this process have been added to each of the Assessment Handbook and the Academic Regulations, and are available online (see http://www.arcs.qmul.ac.uk/media/arcs/policyzone/academic/Academic-Regulations-2020-21-FINAL.pdf).

Making changes to programmes and modules at short notice

An existing regulation describing the mechanisms for making in-year changes to academic provision that would affect the current cohort has been reworded It has been reworded to better reflect the position described in the Terms and Conditions (see http://www.arcs.qmul.ac.uk/media/arcs/policyzone/academic/Academic-Regulations-2020-21-FINAL.pdf).

Appointments to the Academic Misconduct Panel (minutes 2019-252 – 2019.253)

Appointment of Dr Theo Kreouzis as Academic Misconduct Chair

The Academic Misconduct Panel is responsible for dealing with assessment offences at Queen Mary. It has a Chair, and (currently) three deputies. Dr Martin Carrier completed his term as Chair earlier in the year.

Dr Theo Kreouzis is a Senior Lecturer in the School of Physics and Astronomy, and a former member of the Senate. He had been Deputy Chair of the Academic Misconduct Panel for a number of years.

Appointment of acting Academic Misconduct Investigators, Deputy Chairs and Panel Members

The changes to assessments during 2019-20 resulted in a higher proportion of cases than usual being referred to ARCS for investigation under the Academic Misconduct Policy. To counter the potential for delays to the release of student results, the Education Support Group (Education 3.0) put out a call for staff in schools/ institutes to volunteer to aid in investigation and decision-making. There were ten respondents at the time the chair's action was taken. These were temporary appointments to deal with the current spike in cases, but the request was made that should any nominee wish to continue beyond 2019-20 that these should be treated as substantive appointments.

Dr Peter Brett (SPIR) Professor Nick Lemos (WHRI)
Dr Livia Carvalho (WHRI) Professor Shahn Majid (Maths)
Dr Dianne Cooper (WHRI) Professor Wayne Morrison (Law)
Dr Jürgen Groet (Blizard) Professor Alastair Owens

Professor Henri Huijberts (SEMS) (Geography)

Dr Nina Ravic (WHRI)