

Senate

Paper title	EQSB Membership and Terms of Reference 2021-22
Outcome requested	The Senate is asked to approve these documents.
Points for Senate members to note and further information	The Education Quality and Standards Board (EQSB) is a board of Queen Mary's Senate. It considers and advises the Senate on institutional strategies and policies that enhance learning, teaching and assessment, and on policies and mechanisms for assuring academic standards and quality. The Board also monitors indicators of progress in the Education Strategy, and scrutinises the outcomes of quality assurance mechanisms. The Senate considers and approves EQSB's membership and terms of reference at the start of each year.
	There are no changes to the terms of reference this year other than very minor updates to phrasing that do not affect meaning. The membership document has been updated to reflect personnel changes, but there are no changes to the structure of the membership. An additional clause has been added to state that a member who does not attend four consecutive meetings will be considered to have resigned their membership; this is in line with existing provisions for other Boards of Senate, such as the Taught Programmes Board.
Questions for Senate to consider	Is the Senate satisfied that the terms of reference and the membership are appropriate?
Regulatory/statutory reference points	-
Strategy and risk	-
Reporting/ consideration route for the paper	Endorsed by the EQSB (September 2021). Senate to approve.
Sponsor	Professor Stephanie Marshall, Vice-Principal (Education)



Education Quality and Standards Board Terms of Reference 2021-22

- 1. To consider and advise the Senate on institutional strategies and policies which enhance learning, teaching and assessment across all Queen Mary programmes, by:
- 2. To promote excellent, research-informed teaching practice and curriculum design, and encouraging innovative approaches to learning;
 - a. supporting the development of staff involved in teaching and assessment;
 - b. promoting developments in learning technologies and resources;
 - c. supporting widening participation and outreach activities;
 - d. taking steps to maximise the academic and career success of our diverse student body;
 - e. analysing relevant performance indicators in relation to student progress and achievement, and student satisfaction.
- 3. To monitor indicators of progress in the Queen Mary Strategy 2030.
- 4. To consider and advise the Senate on policies and mechanisms for assuring academic standards and quality at Queen Mary through a risk-based approach.
- 5. To scrutinise and report to the Senate on the outcomes of quality assurance mechanisms, including:
 - a. matters arising from the conduct of examination boards, including external examiners' reports;
 - b. reports from external agencies, including the QAA, OfS, PSRBs and Research Councils;
 - c. reports and action plans arising from annual programme reviews, periodic reviews and student surveys.
- 6. To establish groups to undertake specific tasks related to the Board's remit and to consider recommendations from these groups.
 - a. A standing sub-board is responsible for the development and consideration of mark and grade conversions for Queen Mary students studying at overseas institutions.
- 7. To provide regular reports to the Senate, including recommendations for further action where appropriate.
- 8. The quorum for the meeting is one third of the Board's members.



Education Quality and Standards Board Membership 2021-22

Ex officio members	
Vice-Principal (Education) (Chair):	Professor Stephanie Marshall
Vice-Principal (People, Culture and Inclusion):	Sheila Gupta
Deputy Vice-Principals (Education):	
Education Programmes:	Professor Anthony Michael
Strategic Projects:	Professor Stefan Krummaker
Faculty Deans for Education:	
Humanities and Social Sciences:	Professor Christina Perry
Medicine and Dentistry:	Professor Anthony Warrens
• Science and Engineering:	Professor Anthony Michael
Dean for Postgraduate Research:	Professor Tim Warner
Academic Lead for International Student Experience:	Dr Rosemary Clyne
Academic Registrar & Secretary to Council:	Vacant
Deputy Academic Registrar:	Jane Pallant
Director of Student and Academic Services:	Sarah Cowls
University Librarian:	Kate Price
Director of the Queen Mary Academy:	Professor Janet de Wilde
Queen Mary Students' Union:	
• Vice-President (Barts and the London):	Robert Tucker
• Vice-President (Humanities and Social Sciences	s):Saynab Sharif
 Vice-President (Science and Engineering): 	Bilge Kacmaz

Nominated members

Three academic nominees from each faculty (three-year terms, normally up to two consecutive terms)

Humanities and Social Sciences:	Elizabeth Gillow (2019-20-)	
	Professor Chris Phillips (2019-20-)	
	Sanmeet Dua (2020-21-)	
Medicine and Dentistry:	Professor Maralyn Druce (2019-20-)	
	Dr Lesley Robson (2019-20-)	
	Dr Helen Bintley (2020-21-)	
Science and Engineering:	Dr Chris Bray (2021-22-)	
	Jane Reid (2019-20-)	
	Dr Yasir Alfadhl (2020-21-)	
In attendance		
Assistant Academic Registrar (Secretary):	Simon Hayter	
Executive Officer (Education):	Robert Cashman	
Executive Officer (Education): Head of E-Learning:	Robert Cashman Surjit Uppal	
Head of E-Learning:	Surjit Uppal	
Head of E-Learning: QMSU staff representative:	Surjit Uppal	
Head of E-Learning: QMSU staff representative: <i>Chairs of the Degree Examination Boards</i>	Surjit Uppal Jonathan Otter	
Head of E-Learning: QMSU staff representative: <i>Chairs of the Degree Examination Boards</i> Dentistry (Undergraduate):	Surjit Uppal Jonathan Otter Dr Alan Cruchley	
Head of E-Learning: QMSU staff representative: <i>Chairs of the Degree Examination Boards</i> Dentistry (Undergraduate): Humanities & Social Sciences (Undergraduate):	Surjit Uppal Jonathan Otter Dr Alan Cruchley Professor Catherine Nash	
Head of E-Learning: QMSU staff representative: <i>Chairs of the Degree Examination Boards</i> Dentistry (Undergraduate): Humanities & Social Sciences (Undergraduate): Humanities & Social Sciences (Postgraduate):	Surjit Uppal Jonathan Otter Dr Alan Cruchley Professor Catherine Nash Elizabeth Gillow	
Head of E-Learning: QMSU staff representative: <i>Chairs of the Degree Examination Boards</i> Dentistry (Undergraduate): Humanities & Social Sciences (Undergraduate): Humanities & Social Sciences (Postgraduate): Medicine (Undergraduate):	Surjit Uppal Jonathan Otter Dr Alan Cruchley Professor Catherine Nash Elizabeth Gillow Professor Sandra Nicholson	

A member who does not attend four consecutive meetings will be considered to have resigned their membership.