Senate 14.03.2024 Paper Code: SE2023.43



Senate

| Paper title | Misconduct Panel Deputy Chairs |
|---------------------------------------|--|
| Outcome requested | The Senate is asked to approve the nomination of new Deputy Chairs to the Misconduct Panel. |
| Points for Senate members to note and | This request is for the appointment of new Misconduct Deputy Chair, in line with paragraph 25 of the Academic Misconduct Policy. |
| further information | nine new Deputy Chairs are nominated, to replace the loss of 8 Chairs in 2023/24. |
| | Further nominations of new chairs from S&E are expected to be submitted in the coming weeks via Chairs Action, to compliment the nominations listed here from HSS & FMD. |
| Questions to consider | Does Senate approve the appointment of the nominated Deputy Misconduct Chairs? |
| Regulatory/statutory | Internal: |
| reference points | Academic Misconduct Policy 2023/24 |
| | External: |
| | 1. QAA Academic Integrity Charter for UK Higher Education |
| | 2. QAA Assessing with Integrity in Digital Delivery |
| | 3. QAA UK Quality Code for Higher Education, Advice and Guidance: Assessment |
| Strategy and risk | Aligns with the OfS conditions of continuing registration, notably C2 |
| | Aligns with the Queen Mary Strategy 2030 |
| | Aligns with the Office of the Independent Adjudicator Good Practice Framework |
| Reporting/ | Approval by Senate only. |
| consideration route | |
| Author | Haylee Fuller, Head of the Appeals, Complaints & Conduct Office |
| Sponsor | |



Appointment of Academic Misconduct Chairs

This request is for the appointment of new Misconduct Deputy Chair, in line with the Academic Misconduct Policy. Paragraph 25 of the policy requires Senate to appoint Chairs to the Misconduct Panel, for a period of three years. Following the resignation of 7 Misconduct Deputy Chairs and the sad loss of the senior Chair, additional appointments are required to ensure the timely consideration of academic misconduct cases in the coming year.

Approval is sought for the appointment of new Deputy Chairs listed below.

The nominations have been recommended by the Dean of Education in the respective Faculties. The Appeals, Complaints & Conduct Office has provided initial information regarding the role profile to ensure that the new Deputy Chairs understand the role and commitment. Ongoing support and training in conduct of the role will continue to be provided by the Appeals, Complaints & Conduct Office.

- Professor Nelarine Cornelius (SBM)
- Professor Martin Laffin (SBM)
- Dr. Antigoni Lykotrafiti (CCLS)
- Professor Tessa Wright (SBM) to commence at the start of the 2024/25 academic year
- Professor Mark Willians (SBM) to commence at the start of the 2024/25 academic year
- Dr Dunja Aksentijvic (WHRI)
- Dr Sadani Cooray (WHRI)
- Dr Jo Elliot (Digital Education Studio)
- Dr Lesley Robson (IHSE)

The S&E Faculty Executive are currently considering further nominations, to compliment those above from HSS & FMD. The Appeals, Complaints & Conduct Office welcomes and encourages further nominations throughout the coming academic year, to ensure that the Misconduct Panel is of sufficient number and diversity of disciplines to respond to cases in a timely manner, without excessive burden on those who are members of the Misconduct Panel.