Senate 13.06.2024 Paper Code: SE2023.59



Senate

Paper Title	Chair's actions	
Outcome requested	Senate is asked to note the detail of a Chair's action taken since the last meeting of Senate.	
Points for Senate members to note and further information	 One Chair's action has been taken since the last Senate meeting held on 14 March 2024: 1. The appointment of Dr Rohini Sabharwal as Chair of the Professional Capability Committee. The full details of the Chair's action are provided for members' information. 	
Questions for Senate to consider	n/a	
Regulatory/statutory reference points	n/a	
Strategy and risk	n/a	
Reporting/ consideration route for the paper	n/a	
Authors	Jane Pallant, Director of Governance and Legal Services	
Sponsor	Professor Colin Bailey, President and Principal	



Senate Chair's action request Professional Capability Committee membership

Summary

The Chair received a request to approve the updated membership of the Professional Capability Committee (PCC) with the appointment of a new Chair and member of the Committee.

Background

The Queen Mary Professional Capability & Fitness to Practise regulations (the Regulations) consider concerns relating to students studying for qualifying degrees within the Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry. By graduating a student with a qualifying degree Queen Mary legally confirms that the graduate is fit to practise. Investigations under the Regulations are intended to assess a student's fitness to practise should concerns arise. Both Committees have members from Institutes across the Faculty. The Chairs of the PCC are normally registered dental or medical professionals.

The PCC is the body to receive all concerns considered under the Regulations. The PCC is intended to be a direct but constructive body; directing students to the concerns which have been raised and allowing them to demonstrate appropriate insight, reflection or, where necessary, remediation and remorse. The PCC can put in place conditions and undertakings to help a student develop appropriate levels of insight and reflection.

The PCC is made up of three Chairs and a pool of clinical qualified colleagues, all of whom are appointed by Senate. When the PCC meets to hear a student's case a Chair and a colleague from the Senate appointed pool must be present.

Membership updates

Dr Lucy Carter has left Queen Mary and it was proposed that Dr Rohini Sabharwal be appointed as Chair of the Professional Capability Committee. Dr Sabharwal is a Clinical Lecturer in the Community-Based Medical Education (CBME) department in IHSE and a practising East London GP (0.5FTE). Dr Sabharwal is the lead on the Year 4 primary care teaching (GP4) on the MBBS programme and also acts as Senior Tutor and Chair of Senior SSLC.

Drs Sinclair Butcher and Swati Nehe have stood down from the PCC as their roles within the Institute of Dentistry now preclude their involvement. Dr Radhika Desai is a Clinical Senior Lecturer in Restorative Dentistry and is lead for BDS Year 3 is to become a member of the PCC.

The updated membership of the PCC is below.

Member	Role	Doctor/Dentist
Dr Brenda Mahendran	PCC Chair	Doctor
Dr Rohini Sabharwal	PCC Chair	Doctor
Dr Abimbola Giwa	PCC Chair	Dentist
Dr Radhika Desai	PCC Member	Dentist
Professor Catherine Harwood	PCC Member	Doctor
Dr Martin Griffiths	PCC Member	Doctor
Dr Stanley Fan	PCC Member	Doctor
Dr Hannah Jones	PCC Member	Psychologist
Dr Vanessa Muirhead	PCC Member	Dentist

Approval from the Chair of the Senate

Approved on 19 March 2024