

SENATE MEMBERSHIP 2024-25

EX OFFICIO MEMBERS

a) Chair

President & Principal Professor Colin Bailey

b) The Vice-Principals

Vice-Principal (Health)

Vice-Principal and Executive Dean (Humanities & Professor Mark Caulfield Professor Frances Bowen

Social Science)

Vice-Principal and Executive Dean (Science & Professor Wen Wang

Engineering)

Vice-Principal (Education) Professor Stephanie Marshall Vice-Principal (International) Professor Helen Bailey

Al-Habib Mraish

Professor Kavita Datta

Professor Emma Griffin

Professor Michael Harker

Professor Martin Coward

Professor Kathryn Richardson

Vice-Principal (Policy and Strategic Partnerships)

Dr Philippa Lloyd

Vice-Principal (Research and Innovation) Professor Andrew Livingston

c) The President of the Students' Union Tahmid Khan

d) The Students' Union Vice-Presidents

Vice-President Humanities and Social Sciences Jovani Palnoni
Vice-President Barts and The London Rahma Hegy

Vice-President Science and Engineering

e) Heads/Deans of Schools & Institutes Humanities and Social Sciences

Business Management Professor Mike Noon
Centre for Commercial Law Studies Professor Ioannis Kokkoris

Economics and Finance Professor Alp Atakan

Geography History

Law
Politics and International Relations

The Arts

Medicine and Dentistry

Barts Cancer Institute Professor Nitzan Rosenfeld
Blizard Institute Professor Mary Collins

Institute of Dentistry Professor Christopher Tredwin

Institute of Health Sciences Education Professor Jo Martin
William Harvey Research Institute Professor Panos Deloukas
Wolfson Institute of Population Health Professor Fiona Walter

Science and Engineering

Biological and Behavioural Sciences Professor Caroline Brennan

Electronic Engineering and Computer Science Professor Steve Uhlig

Engineering and Materials Science Professor Hazel Screen
Mathematical Sciences Professor Boris Khoruzhenko
Physical and Chemical Sciences Professor Adrian Bevan

f) Faculty Deans of Research and Taught

Programmes

Humanities and Social Sciences

Dean for Education Professor Elizabeth Gillow Dean for Research Professor Galin Tihanov

Medicine and Dentistry

Dean for Education Professor Anthony Warrens
Dean for Research Professor Amrita Ahluwalia

Science and Engineering

Dean for Education Professor Christopher Bray
Dean for Research Professor Martin Knight

g) Elected members of academic staff

The numbers of elected members of academic staff per faculty may vary to provide for uneven numbers of Heads of Schools/Institutes so that there is in total an even number from each Faculty over all membership categories.

1) Constituency One: Ten elected members of the academic staff from the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

Professor Rob Briner [Business and Management] [2026]

Professor Liam Campling [Business and Management] [2027]

Professor James Esson [Geography] [2028]

Professor Neve Gordon [Law] [2025]

Professor Wayne Joseph Morrison [Law] [2025]

Professor Rachael Mulheron KC (Hon) [Law] [2027]

Dr Émilie Oléron Evans [Languages, Linguistics and Film] [2026]

Dr Sharri Plonski [Politics and International Relations] [2027]

Dr James Strong [Politics and International Relations] [2025]

1 Vacancy

2) Constituency Two: Twelve elected members of the academic staff of the School of Medicine and Dentistry

Dr Georgia Black [Wolfson Institute of Population Health] [2027]

Dr Erik Blair [Institute of Health Sciences Education] [2026]

Dr Livia A Carvalho [William Harvey Research Institute] [2027]

Dr Pedro Elston [Institute of Health Sciences Education] [2026]

Dr Abimbola Giwa [Institute of Dentistry] [2025]

Dr Jürgen Groet [Blizard Institute] [2028]

Professor Richard Grose [Barts Cancer Institute] [2025]

Dr Eleni Hagi-Pavli [Institute of Dentistry] [2028]

Professor John Marshall [Barts Cancer Institute] [2026]

Dr Ali Nankali [Institute of Dentistry] [2028]

Professor Simon Rawlinson [Institute of Dentistry] [2025]

Dr Melanie Smuk [Blizard Institute] [2028]

Constituency Three: Thirteen members of the academic staff from the Faculty of Science and Engineering

Dr Oscar Bandtlow [Mathematical Sciences] [2027]

Dr Marie-Luce Bourguet [Electronic Engineering and Computer Science] [2028]

Dr Giorgio Chianello [Physical and Chemical Sciences] [2025]

Professor Giulia De Falco [Biological and Behavioural Sciences] [2025]

Dr Jayne Dennis [Biological and Behavioural Sciences] [2026]

Dr Lei Fang [Mathematical Sciences] [2027]

Dr Timothy Fulton [Biological and Behavioural Sciences] [2028]

Dr Michaela MacDonald [Electronic Engineering and Computer Science] [2026]

Dr Anthony Phillips [Physical and Chemical Sciences] [2026]

Professor Thomas Prellberg [Mathematical Sciences] [2026]

Professor Abhishek Saha [Mathematical Sciences] [2028]

Professor Elizabeth Tanner [Engineering and Materials Science] [2026]

Dr Yannick Wurm [Biological and Behavioural Sciences] [2026]

ACADEMIC SECRETARIAT

Chief Governance Officer and University Secretary

Director of Governance and Legal Services

Jacob Secretary Jacob Services

Jonathan Morgan Jane Pallant

IN ATTENDANCE

Deputy Vice-Principal for Impact, Civic, Culture and Community

Deputy Vice-Principal for Strategic Research

Deputy Vice-Principal Education

Deputy Vice-Principal for Impact Enterprise and

Commercial Innovation

Deputy Vice-Principal for Education

Dean for Postgraduate Research, Blizard Institute

Executive Officer (Academic Secretariat)

Professor Alison Blunt

Professor Yang Hao

Professor Stefan Krummaker

Professor David Lee

Professor Anthony Michael

Professor Tim Warner

Kaya Wiles

Membership count: 71

Quorum: 24

Revised 16.10.2024